Bring it? No problems.

On the weekend I got a call from my brother-in-law asking me if I could come to his office and have a look at a problem he was having with his computer. He briefly described the issue to me, which I’d never seen before, and I told him that it shouldn’t be a problem to fix. Little did I know that he’d already asked another friend (someone who I also know) to look at it, but to no avail. Upon suggesting to this friend that he’d get me to look at it, the reply was: “Ummm, I don’t know. If I can’t fix it, I think Sledge will struggle to fix it”. Well, listen up my homie cause Sledge is about to dish up a can of whoop arse.

The problem was this: upon opening new browser windows in IE, from an existing IE window, the new window would open blank. Now this can get annoying, particularly because my brother-in-law has a drafting business that requires him to view land titles/deeds etc online and then print these documents via a new browser window (there is no way to view it in the current browser window) – and at $20 a pop, it was getting a bit expensive to view a blank page instead of the expected document. Now I’d never seen this problem, but have no fear – support.microsoft.com is here.

Roughly 10 minutes later after doing a search on the IE knowledge base, I found this article 306831 and proceeded to follow it and what do you know – it fixed the problem.

Now this is the 2nd time I’ve fixed a strange problem on this computer using support.microsoft.com and it’s the 2nd time a friend has claimed “I don’t think Sledge will be able to fix it”.

3 Responses to Bring it? No problems.

  1. Kestrel says:

    Face it dude… You rox!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yeah, good going mate. I hope that chump takes it like a girl and bursts out into tears.

    Haha, rock on…

  3. Yeh I don’t understand some peoples problem solving processes. It’s not hard to simply search the issue on support.microsoft.com or http://www.google.com – ah well, they’ll learn one day.

Leave a Reply

