Canon LIDE 35 Review

Earlier this week I had a friend ask if I could scan some photos for her, “No problems” I said. So I called up my Dad and asked if I could borrow his scanner (again), which was fine. However I started thinking, “This is becoming a pain – why don’t I buy a scanner for myself?” So I did.

My criteria was: cheap (quite important), good quality scans & a good set of features. After a bit of searching (well, mainly checked out my favourite online computer store Centre Com) & reading of online reviews, I decided on the Canon LIDE 35. I could comment on it’s features but why waste time, lets start the review! If you want it’s features, click on the link above.

Everything was good during unpacking, installing of software, connecting scanner etc. However, when it was time to test scan, I wasn’t so happy – scanning quality was very poor. I was getting all these scanlines across parts of my photos, “Oh no”, I thought, “I’ve brought a lemon”. This was using the bundled PhotoStudio (which I believe uses the ScanGear CS plug-in to scan) software.

Also bundled is CanoScan Toolbox – another option to scan your photos/pictures etc. You can use it manually, or if you use the 4 buttons on the front of the scanner, it gets used automatically. Anyway, I decided to give it a go – and lo and behold, it scanned perfectly. No scanlines, no fading – just perfect scans.

So basically I’ll stay away from the PhotoStudio software and just use the CanoScan Toolbox instead. It’s no biggie and possibly not unexpected considering the purchase price but still… you’d think Canon would have better quality control over it’s bundled software products.

Leave a Reply

