4 Billion Losers

Interesting post over at The Dilbert Blog entitled 4 Billion Losers – I'll summarise it here but go on over and check it out.

Recently I asked the believers among you to explain why you believe in your own prophet but not the other guy’s prophet. The LDS (Mormon) folks said they talk directly to God and get personal answers. Most of the rest of you said something along the lines that your prophet(s) (or Christ) told you that the other guy’s prophet(s) (or Christ) isn’t all that. Fair enough. I was concerned that you hadn’t thought it through.

Now I have another question for the believers. And by the way, I’m genuinely curious. I don’t do this just to stir up things, although that’s fun too. I actually wonder how you think. My question is this: How do you explain to yourself that 4 billion people (minimum) believe different from you?

Ah a discussion on religion. You can be guaranteed to get the following kinds of responses:

  1. There is no God, religion is for the weak. You're a loser, physco etc if you believe in God.
  2. There is no God, but go ahead and believe in it anyway.
  3. There is some sort of god (God, Buddha, Allah, Mother Earth, Justin Timberlake etc) that just wants you to be a "good" person and embraces all people.

Then there's my belief system. Straight up front, no messing around it is this:

  1. There is only one God (the God of the Bible).
  2. God can not associate with Sin.
  3. Men & women Sin and thus will have an eternity with no relationship with God (i.e. hell).
  4. God in His wisdom and love has given as an avenue to get forgiveness for our Sins via His son Jesus Christ. Through Jesus we can spend eternity in relationship with God (i.e. heaven).

So how come, according to The Dilbert Blog, 4billion+ other people in the world don't believe this. Well, I believe (there's that word again) it comes down to three reasons:

  1. They can't, won't or don't believe there is a God (I'm talking about the God of the Bible here).
  2. They think there might be a God, but when they think about the consequences of this (i.e. changing their life, obeying His commandments), they prefer to ignore it.
  3. They haven't heard about God.

My upbringing has had an influence on my belief in God, but only so far as establishing the concepts of God. I had to make a decision to accept this as true, personalise my faith and follow through with it. This has led to my strong belief & convictions in God. 4billion other people in the world don't have to believe in God – but I do.

What are your thoughts on this matter?

3 Responses to 4 Billion Losers

  1. deckart jazz says:

    I agree with your sentiments bro.

  2. Beppo says:

    I suspect most people don’t truly want to find God and the truth, because they know they’d have to change their lifestyle. God wants to be “found”, and if we will sincerely search for Him we will find Him. And of course a lot of people are deceived, where they’ve been told lies and they believe them. It’s really sad.

    And it’s sad to admit this, but many Christians don’t represent Jesus well (especially here in America, where many people claim to be Christians but don’t live it). And we haven’t prioritized evangelizing the world. How can we claim to love God if we don’t care about our fellow man?

    I blame the “4billion” problem on the Christians (myself included). God wants us to spread the Good News and be a witness for Him, but too often we get comfortable where we are and caught up with our own lives…

    Anyway, I didn’t mean to get my preach on… I’ve thought about this quite a bit…

  3. olorinsledge says:

    Beppo – thanks for your comments. I'm in agreement with everything you've said.

    I suspect most people don't truly want to find God and the truth, because they know they'd have to change their lifestyle.

    Most definitely. They may 'believe' in God but they don't want to think about it too much because the God of the Bible demands changes in their life – changes they are not willing to make.

    And it's sad to admit this, but many Christians don't represent Jesus well (especially here in America, where many people claim to be Christians but don't live it)

    I would say it's similar the world over – people claiming to be Christians but living lives that are not a whole lot different than the 'sinner' next door. This has done much damage to the credibility of the church and it is one of the greatest challenges true Christians face today.

    too often we get comfortable where we are and caught up with our own lives…

    And thus why God can move in areas that are under great persecution/distress – they don't have these 'comforts' and can truly focus on spending time with God.

    Anyway, I didn't mean to get my preach on… I've thought about this quite a bit…

    Hey, no problems on my end – go for it! It's great to see that there are other Christians giving serious thought to why people can believe in a God but choose not to follow Him or follow Him but not with their whole being.

Leave a Reply

